LAMA Fall 2019 Winners & Selections

Best Narrative Short

Best Documentary Short

“ Normal: The Documentary “

Dir. by Tari Wariebi

1st Place Winners

“ Stucco “

Dir. by Janina Gavankar & Russo Schelling

J is trying and failing to move forward as the scars of old relationships keep her trapped inside her new home. While hanging a piece of art, she knocks a hole in her wall that reveals what might be a hidden room. Her mind races to think what could be on the other side as she continues to unravel.

Audience Award

“ Normal: The Documentary “

Dir. by Tari Wariebi

Normal is a short documentary, that follows Garren, a 23 year old, black male who has set out to redefine what it means to be “Normal” in this society, as we reexamine his neighborhood in South Central LA, where various pre-existing conditions prevent young men from having control over their fate.

Ultimately, the goal of this film is to form a collective point of view on how young black men can transform their life by following what they deem to be true to themselves, despite what society and social infrastructure are telling them to be.

Best Documentary Feature

Best Animation

Best International Film

“ Talk “

Dir. by Boulanger Romuald

“ Latteship “

Dir. by Hsing-Fang Tsai & Daishi Takishima

“ Crazy Tiger “

Dir. by Kaname Onoyama

Latteship is a 3D animated short created by Flora Hsing-Fang Tsai and Daishi Takishima. The animation story follows Sigri and Kona, two otters who have opposite personalities. They must learn to accept each other to cooperate in order to run a small but popular coffee truck - Sigri Coffee. The story’s theme comes from an African proverb “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.

Beautiful but dangerous, the Danjiri Festival in Osaka is one of the biggest traditional cart-pulling festivals in Japan. Go Takashiro is a renowned dancer who since childhood dedicated all of his energy for the festival and danced for the last time in 2017.

In a Los Angeles radio station. The host of an emblematic night talk show (William Baldwin) gives advice to live callers.

One call will destroy his career, his family, his life ...

Best Experimental

Best Student Film

“ Cyrano aux tranchées “

Dir. by DOSSETTO Edouard

“ Neon Rabbits “

Dir. by Kenny Sheard

Verdun, 1917. In the night between the bombings, four Poilus heard a character fall from the Moon; an encounter of their reality with the historical fiction: Cyrano de Bergerac.   Based on the play by Joseph Suberville, a young gunner poet, written in 1918, and performed at the Théâtre des Armées a century ago.

A Soldier returns home from overseas to piece together his estranged sister's brutal attack. He's forced back into the life he abandoned a decade ago in the lurid, and occult world of Miami's nightlife, as he tracks down those responsible.

Best Music Video

Best Script

“ The Real Thing “

by Matthew Papadopoulos

“ Close Your Eyes “

Dir. by Alexander Soloviev

A virgin college student creates his virtual perfect girlfriend… then falls for her real-life lookalike who is anything but perfect.

We shot this music video on the frozen lake Baikal in Russia. Why did we go there? The budget was tiny and we had a chance to rent some lighting equipment in Moscow or to go somewhere having nothing. Ofcourse we chose to travel to Baikal and capture this extraordinary place in a very unique state when the lake is frozen and you are littarely standing on 1 meter of ice and there is a kilometer of water under you. Amazing feeling which is hard to describe. The weather was changing every 5 minutes, directing us to what has to be shot. It was a lot of of fun just to allow the nature lead you and we are very thankful to everything what we had experienced there. The song is in Russian, it is about love, passion, freedom. I hope that the language barrier will not affect the viewing.

Best Director

“ Crazy Tiger “

Dir. by Kaname Onoyama

Best Actor

William Baldwin

“ Talk ”

Best Actress

Janina Gavankar

“ Stucco ”

Best Cinematography

Quyen Tran


Best Costume Design

“ Cyrano aux Tranchées “

Dir. by Dossetto Edouard

Best Original Score

Justin D. Wright


Best Production Design

“ Cyrano aux Tranchées “

Dir. by Dossetto Edouard

Official Selections, Category “Best” and Honorable Mention Winners

Judge Me

Dir. by Anatoliy Kim

Long Distance

Dir. by David Thompson

Road Kill

Dir. by Tyrone Trullinger

The Nun’s Kaddish

Dir. by Luis ismael

The O List

Dir. by Linda Barsi

Weep Not

Dir. by Lenore Thomas Douglas


by Tony Bryan


by Ray O’Conor


by Sumathy Ram & Charles Leopardo


by Efrat Dor

To Hell And Back

by Agnese Pagliarani

Twilight Sleep

by Alan Lambert


Category Winners

Honorable Mention

Stage IV:

Living With Cancer


Dir. by Mariana Conde & Mariana Conde

“Caught Inside”

Dir. by Dwight Thompson

“Chuck Ransom”

Dir. by Arian Harandi

“Daddy Come Home”

Dir. by Mendel Katz & Yisrael Dubov


Dir. by Thanos Kermitsis

“Jaysin Voxx 'Hands on Me'”

Dir. by Carlos Hurtado


Dir. by Nancy C. Mejia

“The Courier”

Dir. by J.Mackye Gruber

“The Equation of Life”

Dir. by Gerry Orz

“The Stop”

Dir. by Marc Ruiz

“Two and a Quarter Minutes”

Dir. by Joshua Ovalle

Official Selections