LAMA Winter 2020 Winners & Selections

Best Narrative Short

Best Documentary Short

“ That Sound Of Sea “

Dir. by Gabriel Kogan & Clara Figueiredo

1st Place Winners

“ The Shot “

Dir. by Adan Canto

A young mother is forced to extreme measures when a Texas Ranger and his mysterious partner seek shelter from the rain. Set in 1844, Republic of Texas, The Shot is a story of survival and prejudice.

Audience Award

“ Code “

Dir. by David Law & Aaron Little

A 72 year old man returns to his beach house to try to understand why the sound of the ocean has pursued him for years. The camera follows the man as he walks through the house, showing us his angsts and frustrations. The house is both the setting and a character. The space transcends its materiality and architectural forms, inviting the protagonist to a dreamlike world represented by his recollection of a pleasant and bright Sunday with family and the sound of a seashell, a recurring symptom. The man faces the consequences of his choices, like his tendency to work to the detriment of his family and friendships, or for placing his hopes in the project instead of in the actual use of the space. The house, itself a metaphor for the seashell, is a symptom and a mechanism for confrontation.

Best Documentary Feature

Best Animation

“ Master Moley By Royal Invitation “

Dir. by Leon Joosen

“ Gateway “

Dir. by Dana Richie

The story of a young Mole and his adventure to pick a rose from the Queen's Garden, not knowing that this simple act will change, not only his life, but the life of all Moles.

GATEWAY is a film thoughtfully told through the eyes and hearts of everyday American families who were introduced to opioids after surgery and go on to battle with addiction – either personally or as a caregiver to a loved one. The result is a humanizing and eye-opening look into the risks of injudicious opioid prescribing in an often overlooked setting in the context of the addiction crisis: the operating room. The film features a woman who faced addiction following a C-section, a high school athlete who struggled with opioids after suffering sports-related injuries, a young woman who has battled addiction for over a decade, and a clinician who has made it his mission to reduce opioid prescribing after surgery.

Best Experimental

Best Student Film

“ Off With Your Head “

Dir. by Kaitlin Moore

“ Balance Of Power “

Dir. by Abdul Malik Abbott

In 1850’s London, Cora falls down her personal rabbit hole after being dropped off at an insane asylum, finding solace in the “Wonderland” she has fabricated in her mind. As a reaction to the abandonment by her father, Cora turns into none other than the evil Queen of Hearts.

Love and Power have a cost

When a man loves a woman, she becomes his weakness. When a woman truly loves a man he becomes her strength. This is called the exchange of power.

Best Music Video

Best Script

“ A Cozy Little Town “

by Edward Hicklin

“ Culdesac - Kevin Hackett “

Dir. by Jon Cole

Two detectives investigate a grisly murder in a small Massachusetts town, a murder that turns out to be but a footnote in a community shrouded by dark, supernatural secrets. Also, it's hilarious.

Chronicling the journey into adulthood, leaving family and young self behind.

Best Actress

Marlee Learner

“ Off With Your Head ”

Best Cinematography

Gonzalo Amat

“The Shot”

Best Costume Design

“ The Shot “

Dir. by Adan Canto

Best Editing

“ Megan “

Dir. by Greg Strasz

Best Original Score

“ Master Moley By Royal Invitation “

Dir. by Leon Joosen

Best Production Design

“ The Shot “

Dir. by Adan Canto

Official Selections, Category “Best” and Honorable Mention Winners

“ Bruce “

Dir. by Cecile Garcia

“ Code “

Dir. by David Law & Aaron Little

“ Megan “

Dir. by Greg Strasz

“ Remnants “

Dir. by Evers Pund

“ Wives Of The Skies “

Dir. by Honey Lauren

“ Ball Of Fire “

by Sean Coleman

“ Managing The Risk “

by Trent Miller

“ More Remote Than Bavaria “

by Jeff Woodard

“ ScareActor “

by Kim Donovan

“ The Catsitter “

by Dorothea Facchini


Category Winners

Honorable Mention

Stage IV:

Living With Cancer


Dir. by Mariana Conde & Mariana Conde

“Caught Inside”

Dir. by Dwight Thompson

“Chuck Ransom”

Dir. by Arian Harandi

“Daddy Come Home”

Dir. by Mendel Katz & Yisrael Dubov


Dir. by Thanos Kermitsis

“Jaysin Voxx 'Hands on Me'”

Dir. by Carlos Hurtado


Dir. by Nancy C. Mejia

“The Courier”

Dir. by J.Mackye Gruber

“The Equation of Life”

Dir. by Gerry Orz

“The Stop”

Dir. by Marc Ruiz

“Two and a Quarter Minutes”

Dir. by Joshua Ovalle

Official Selections